South Africa, for now.

It’s beautiful here. An aching and excruciating beauty I didn’t expect. Not because I didn’t think Africa would be beautiful but because even as I sit in this exquisite place, the realities of its plundered and pillaged people and landscapes are impossible to ignore. Diamonds, gold, land, success, the certain and brilliant success of one’s children. From what I’ve seen so far, these things are alien to many whose ancestors lived tribally here. And that breaks me with every breath.

4 thoughts on “South Africa, for now.

Leave a Reply

